Why is My Hostname Missing or Deleted?


If your hostname is missing from your account or you’ve noticed that it’s been deleted, it probably went through our 58 day confirmation process without being confirmed. It was deleted, and is available to be recreated.  This article will cover the entire confirmation process and how to make sure that your hostname never gets deleted or expires.

Confirmation Timeline

Free hostnames require confirmation every 30 days to remain active in your account. After 30 days the hostname will enter a “Confirmation” period where it will be eligible to be confirmed for the next 7 days. If you aren’t able to confirm it within that time frame it will enter an “Expired” period.  In this period (which lasts for 7 days), the hostname is removed from DNS but can still be confirmed.  If it’s not confirmed within this period, it will enter a “Redemption” period for 14 days.  After 14 days the hostname will be deleted and be available for you or anyone else to claim.

 

Confirmation Methods:

1. Clicking the link to confirm or redeem your hostname in the email we send you after 30 days, the confirmation is free if you’re within the confirmation or expired periods.

2. Following this link: https://my.noip.com/dynamic-dns.  This link will take you to your No-IP account where you can check the status of your hostname.  Click on the pill shaped icon beneath your hostname to be taken to the confirmation page where you can confirm it. If you’re within the confirmation or expired periods you can confirm your hostname for free.  If you’re in the redemption period you will either have to upgrade to Enhanced or purchase “Hostname Confirmation” for $1.99 USD to retrieve your hostname. If you have multiple hostnames that have gone into redemption, either option will enable all of them.

3. Upgrading to Enhanced by checking out for Enhanced or upgrading to Enhanced from the confirmation page.  This will keep your hostname from expiring for an entire year and you won’t have to deal with the confirmation process, among other benefits.

Here’s a breakdown on the different states your hostname can be in:

Active (Confirmation In X Days): The first 30 days where you don’t need to confirm your hostname.  You cannot confirm within this period.

Confirmation (Expires In X Days): In this state you will be prompted to confirm your hostname by an email we send after 30 days have passed. Confirming will return it to the beginning of the 44 day confirmation period and you won’t be prompted to confirm for another 30 days.  Your hostname will still be active and working normally during the confirmation period.  This period lasts for 7 days after which it will enter the expired period.

Expired (Redemption In X Days): When your hostname expires you will receive another email that lets you know and allows you to confirm it. In this state your hostname will not resolve or receive IP updates until it is confirmed.  You can confirm it the same way as before.  This period will last another 7 days after which it will enter the redemption period.

Redemption: When your hostname is in Redemption you’ll get a third and final email to let you know. It will not resolve or receive updates.  You will also not be able to retrieve the hostname for free as in the confirmation or expired periods.  This period will last 14 days, if not redeemed by upgrading to Enhanced or purchasing “Hostname Redemption” it will be deleted after redemptions ends.

Hostname is Missing or Deleted: You can recreate the hostname.  From the same hostname status page you can click on “Create Hostname” and enter in your deleted hostname.  You do not need to pay anything to recreate a deleted hostname.